Ink

Strangely, as tattoos are becoming more popular for humans, they are becoming less popular for animals. Out of our household of 5 beings (3 of them animals), all except Toady have been “inked”. Manbeast and I have more than a few tattoos between us, and Mylo and Odin each have an ID number tattooed in their ears. Toady, instead, has a microchip.

One thing that I have always desired since becoming a pet owner is a tattoo that defines and expresses my love for my pets. The problem is, I’m not that into paw prints and dog tags. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with them, they’re just not really my thing. The tattoos that I have now make people crinkle their eyebrows and ponder their meanings. I am not one for obvious statements. So, there lies a problem. I don’t want my pets’ names. I don’t want their paws. I don’t want a tattoo of their faces. I want something that signifies my adoration for them without it being completely apparent.

I have been pondering this for some time with about a thousand ideas coming to mind, but none that stick. The tattoos that I have already were in my head for years before they became a reality, so I expect that once I think of one that I want, it will take me forever to really decide anyway. I also expect to have more pets throughout my life, and that they will be just as important to me as my current ones, so therein lies yet another obstacle. I don’t want to be covered from head to toe with initials, faces, paws, or the like. I need something, a small something, that will sufficiently relay my feelings without having to get a new one every time I bring another pet into my family.  An all encompassing something that means something special to me and mine. You know?

Do you have tattoos to represent your pets? Do your pets have tattoos? Do you have any ideas for me?

 

26 thoughts on “Ink

  1. I don’t, but I know others who have the obvious ones that you speak of. I try to think of what each dog teaches me, words that they have etched in me. Like Max was Harmony and Melvin is def, Joy. If I was going to ink for the dogs, I’d start there and see where those words took me. In fact, that seems like a good way to spend the rest of my work day! Good luck — love the idea!!!

    • That’s a great idea! Let me know what you find out! I wouldn’t know where to start with mine, I can’t think of one word, but thanks for the tip, I have a feeling it will definitely help.

  2. Both of my dogs have a microchip but Dottie also has a tattoo from when she was spayed at the humane society before we adopted her.

    I’ve decided that I’m going to get a tattoo on my foot where Boomer likes to sleep, I think it’s going to be a tiny, tiny little chocolate brown paw print but I still haven’t decided.

  3. I don’t have any tattoo, I’ve thought about getting one a few years ago but the idea never settled into my head.
    Doggy has a microchip.
    I like you idea of not getting something obvious, but I have no suggestions. I’m having a hard time being creative lately.

  4. If a picture is worth a thousand words, I think that a design or image will probably serve your purpose better than any one word could, and a design is also much more subtle than a motto or saying. As it is with all good ideas, I’m sure you’ll know exactly when the right idea strikes you. Definitely interested to see what you come up with.

    • You may be waiting for a long time to find out! 🙂 I had my first tattoo in mind for 3-4 years before I actually decided to get it. However, if I think of anything interesting I will definitely write about it.

  5. I have a microchip. Mom has no tattoos, but once she had a bruise that looked like a penguin. Is that anything? If Mom and were getting tattoos, we’d both get a heart. We like being obvious.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • It could count, if she really wanted it to! 🙂 My mom has two brother cats that look almost identical, so one has a tattoo of a flower in his ear (my mom’s a hippie) that the vet added with the ID tattoo so she could tell them apart. A heart would be lovely!

  6. So many pictures come to mind when I read this post.. yet I’m not sure that any really represent the love of animals rather than a pet.. when I think of the artistry of some tattooists (is that a word? well I think you know what I mean if it isn’t) maybe talking to one of them might just aid you to find the perfect picture…
    My pets are micro chip, as are all pets these days, or do they still do the ear tattoo thing? But I don’t have any tattoos on me… to scared of what looks like a painful operation…

    • That’s exactly my problem, I can’t seem to find one that fits! An image to match the bond/love for me pets isn’t easily found. They still do the old ear tattoos on occasion here, it depends on where you take your pet to get fixed. And tattooist is right! 🙂

    • I had one when I met me husband, and he had three, I think. Mine are all fairly small, and on my back, but he just got a 3/4 sleeve done and I am finding it hard to get used to!

  7. It may not be dog-related, but I had a special show horse named Frosty, who is no longer with me. I plan to get a snowflake tattoo on my wrist, in reference to him, as well as this quote:
    “To appreciate the beauty of a snowflake, it is necessary to stand out in the cold.” Because life with him was short. but certainly sweet, and having him as my teammate for a short time was worth the pain of losing him… just as all great things in life are worth the risk and heart-ache. It is a good reminder for me, as I am not one to live my life on the edge 😉

  8. I like the idea of something that other people won’t necessarily ‘get’, that has meaning to you, and that you think on it a few years before getting them – I’m glad I’m not the only indecisive person out there! Though, I don’t have or intend to get tattoos (anything I picture, wait a few months, and I no longer want that, I want this new thing… until I could think of anything for a few years like you do, it’s not going to be permenant… also… needles make me faint) Something to represent my dog? maybe a tattoo of his eye – he has the prettiest golden eyes. But where?
    On another note… I don’t know if that person is a regular commenter… but if not, it sounds like the kind of thing I’d delete from my comments, it’s just plain mean.

    • An eye would be nice, eh? Tattoos are hard to figure out and decide on, especially if you are like me and tend to want everything that you like, haha. Thanks for the advice too, I found it to be a bit abrasive.

  9. None of us have tattoos. One of my human brothers and one of human sisters do though. They are both animal lovers so maybe they will have some ideas we can pass on. We will let you know if we come up with any suggestions. Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

