The 12 Days of Christmas

Christmas with animals is both wonderful and also busy. No matter how much we would like to relax and watch the fireplace channel as the snow swirls outside the front window, we have to put on our snow gear every few hours and take the dogs out. If we are invited to any events, we must make sure that we do not leave the dogs for too long, and we must not stay over night—which means we can’t really partake in any “Christmas cheer”. When we leave the house, we must make sure that there are no presents under the tree or else the cat will probably tear them all open. And when we have a small Christmas spread of cookies and pickles and fancy cheeses on Christmas Eve, we must not leave it unattended. So, here is what our 12 days of Christmas are like…with animals:

On the first day of Christmas, my Odin gave to me a barf under the Christmas tree.

On the second day of Christmas, my Toady gave to me 2 chewed up garbages.

On the third day of Christmas, my Mylo gave to me 3 diarrheas.

On the fourth day of Christmas, my Odin gave to me 4 whiney yowls.

On the fifth day of Christmas, my Toady gave to me 5 stolen groceries.

On the sixth day of Christmas, my Mylo gave to me 6 rolling itches.

On the seventh day of Christmas, my Odin gave to me 7 shredded tea bags.

On the eighth day of Christmas, my Toady gave to me 8 toilet drinks.

On the ninth day of Christmas, my Mylo gave to me 9 destuffed toys.

On the tenth day of Christmas, my Odin gave to me 10 litter flings.

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my Toady gave to me 11 barks at neighbours.

On the Twelfth day of Christmas, my Mylo gave to me 12 escapes from yard.

Even though they can make the holidays a bit less relaxed than we’d like, there’s no way that we would change it. This is our life, and we are happy for it. The boys will all get a stocking from “Santa” on Christmas morning, filled with toys and treats and nonsensical things that we decided they should have. They will share Christmas breakfast and dinner with us and will be encouraged to forget their diets for a few days. Christmas, to us, is about family and if our pets weren’t family there wouldn’t be much point in having them.

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and much blog love to you all. Whether you celebrate or not, whether you are a Scrooge or a modern version of St. Nick. Take a little time to enjoy family and friends and perhaps some wine and chocolate, and throw a couple extra treats to the furries.

From all of us at Fostrickson's

From all of us at Fostrickson’s

39 thoughts on “The 12 Days of Christmas

  1. I am so proud of my Daja !!! This is a funny spin on the old version of a Xmas story, lol, your pets are interesting, but I think Odin is the craziest of them all!!

    • Thank you. And it is nice to find other people out there who have the same lifestyle as us, sometimes it can get a bit lonely when you know a lot of people that haven’t got any pets!

  2. Talk about busy.
    We put the tree yesterday, Doggy already messed with it, I didn’t want to put it but nobody seems to listen to me. Now I gotta deal with all the mess, our first Christmas together and it’ll be a nice one, Doggy is a nice feet warmer.

    • Yes, we have a busy holiday season this year. I woke up this morning to find that Odin had ripped off one of the branches from my tree, lol. I hope that you and Doggy have a magical first Christmas together!

  3. Your boys are so adorable. Yes, not having dogs would mean a more relaxed time that we could spend staying over our family’s place, not having to come back in a couple of hrs., and so much more. I do agree with you, but it would not be as fun as having them being part of our lives. Just like you, even though at times it does get stressful, the rewards of having them in our lives outweights every thing else:)

  4. I totally agree – I am family!!!! Where’s my stocking Producer? And did you here that – no diets, eating with the family so turkey here I come……. 😀
    Love the picture. The best hugs come from a big soft dog.

  5. Such a lovely post and so true. We can fully associate with not leaving the Christmas spread unattended. This is Bessie’s first Christmas so this weekend will determine whether the Christmas decorations we have had for years will be due a renewal next Christmas season. Should be fun! 😉

  6. Great picture of you Toady and Odin! I wish I could get a good snap with Dudley. He’s getting holiday treats now, but I can’t get that booger to smile for the camera to save my life ! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

